new music monday

3 Nov



your house

Originally uploaded by mommymae

bear with me.

i’ve been thinking about ways to get back into playing music, and most importantly, writing songs.

i’d like to learn a new song each week. this doesn’t get me to writing new songs, but it does get me back in the habit of playing and singing. i am, admittedly, not a very good guitar player and would like to get better. my instrument is my voice and the guitar is so i don’t have to sing all alone. like in this here video.

i know that very few people read this, but if you do, can i ask a favor? send me some songs that you think i should learn. i’ll pick one each week and every monday, i hope to have a video of me singing and playing a new song. send your friends, too, but only the nice ones. it’ll be new music monday or something.

AND! if you suggest a song in the comments here, i’ll enter you in a drawing for a $25 build a bear gift card. (unless you are related to me, in which i will void your attempts to get said gift card.) i’ll pick the new song next monday, so you have until midnight CST sunday to enter the drawing.

24 Responses to “new music monday”

  1. micaela6955 (michele p.) November 9, 2008 at 9:27 am #

    My brother is a musician and guitarist (check out my blog at the very bottom for his youtube video) you have a great voice! I am an 80’s girl, I know, it dates me…but I would love to have you sing some of Whitney Houstons hits, like I will Always Love You or something like that! Have a great weekend, what’s left of it anyways!

    micaela6955 at msn dot com

  2. RebekahC November 9, 2008 at 12:25 am #

    I’d like to recommend another Laurie Berkner song actually, “My Magic Box”. (I think that’s the name of it anyhow.)

    Thanks
    RebekahC
    littleminx@cox.net

  3. Janelle November 8, 2008 at 7:20 pm #

    I’d like to hear you sing “Fly me to the Moon.” My daughter loves all Laurie Berkner songs…she sings a version of this on her latest CD.

  4. Kristin W. November 8, 2008 at 12:29 pm #

    i love playing “blackbird” by the beatles. such a great song to play and sing to!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. The Besty November 8, 2008 at 11:22 am #

    “the story” by brandi carlile. there are several performances/videos on u tube….
    i win!!!! PLLLL on everyone else!

  6. Janet November 7, 2008 at 6:54 pm #

    How about My Sweet Lord by George Harrison or Summer Breeze by Seals & Crofts? Two of my favorite songs from the oldies radio station I listen to.

  7. bekaboo November 7, 2008 at 6:19 pm #

    You have a lovely voice! I have to admit I got a giggle or two out of the cute baby hiccups in the background. I think you should learn “Hallelujah” by Leonard Cohen. You can find it on Playlist.com. Jason Castro sang it on American Idol last season, and it seems like it would suit your voice.

  8. Gina November 7, 2008 at 4:04 am #

    How about “Live Forever” by Oasis?

  9. Bridgette O November 6, 2008 at 8:56 pm #

    red white and blue by lynard skynard

  10. Barb G November 6, 2008 at 6:34 pm #

    One Step at a Time Jordin Sparks
    ve3smu(at)cogeco(dot)ca

  11. Susan Piluk November 6, 2008 at 5:43 pm #

    believe by Brooks and Dunn

  12. sheri November 6, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    foolish games-Jewel

  13. Ashley November 6, 2008 at 1:44 pm #

    Amazed by Lonestar

  14. Angela November 6, 2008 at 1:37 pm #

    Time of Your Life by Green Day is acoustic and ridiculously easy to learn. I’m sure you could even find the tabs online. I love that song. Thanks for the chance to win!
    Angela
    itsahumanzoo(at)gmail(dot)com
    P.S. I’m giving away two Bath and Body Works prizes on my blog. Stop by and throw your name in the hat to win! :)

  15. Stacy November 6, 2008 at 1:33 pm #

    Josh Ritter, anything from Historical conquest.

  16. Chelsey November 6, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    Maybe it’s the Garth Brooks suggestion above, but the song “I Hope You Dance” by Lee Ann Womack came to mind right away. It’s such a sweet song and I think you’ve got the voice to do it beautifully.

    Thanks for the giveaway! I’d love to take my near 5 year old to BAB for her first visit!!!

  17. Jingle November 6, 2008 at 9:23 am #

    hmmm….this is tricky! I’d say to try a song like “Building a Mystery” by Sarah Mclachlan. I love her stuff!

  18. Jen November 6, 2008 at 8:15 am #

    Once you can play stair way to heaven you can play anything!!! at least get the intro down so you can fake people out when you start playing it!

  19. Daddyjay November 5, 2008 at 11:14 pm #

    the dance by Garth brooks

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. twime for twitter? « mommymae - November 9, 2008

    […] is midnight tonight for the gift card. leave a comment here if you want […]

  2. chore chart « mommymae - November 8, 2008

    […] build-a-bear gift card. if you didn’t enter yet, you should. plus, i want some song ideas. go here to […]

  3. booties and such « mommymae - November 7, 2008

    […] etsy shop if she enjoys it. if you haven’t told me what song i should learn, you should go here and pick one. you could win a $25 build-a-bear gift card and $10 […]

  4. hmmmm « mommymae - November 6, 2008

    […] you haven’t told me what song i should learn, you should go here and pick one. you could win a $25 build-a-bear gift card and $10 […]

  5. hard to move on from here « mommymae - November 5, 2008

    […] forget to look at new music monday and tell me what song i should learn. i’ve got a $25 gift card from build-a-bear for you. and […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

