so they asked about…

14 May

sex. the little ladies (mind you, they are 6 frickin’ years old!) asked daddyjay what sex was last week. he was reading a book to them, a children’s book about sprites, fairies, and other creatures that create different scents and stains. it’s a rather cute book, save for this one entry. it’s all about a fairy who makes armpit smells and you know what that means…pheromones. and you know what they said? sex, sex, sex. in a kid’s book, you ask? why yes. in a kid’s book. specifically, this one.

here’s the excerpt:

What is, perhaps, less well-known is the fact that Flettera Floralillia is obsessed by sex. In fact all the scents and aromas that she creates under our arms are directly aimed at sexual stimulation. Flettera is convinced that the under-arm area is the most erogenous of all zones and that it is enhanced by smells.

daddyjay stopped reading immediately and one of the gals said, “what’s sex?” he told them he’d have to think about how he wanted to talk to them about it. we talked a bit and i called the trusty aunt lu who i go to in most of these circumstances since she is a model parent. we ended up going with the basics. i told them sex is what mommies and daddies do to make babies. they didn’t ask any more questions. they were fine with that. i was glad that i took the time to think about how to answer, otherwise i would have gone into MUCH more detail and probably confused them completely. they know that babies are made from a sperm and an egg, but aren’t sure how they get together yet. they’ll learn someday. until then, i like my ladies to have 6 year-old knowledge.

3 Responses to “so they asked about…”

  1. Heather May 15, 2008 at 2:46 pm #

    I’m really not ready for that conversation. But I know it will come.

  2. MP May 15, 2008 at 9:37 am #

    Oh MAN…
    I don’t think I understood until I was at least 12 or 13..and I’m OK with that.
    My mother never did give me “the talk” I would have been way too embarrased. I wish there was a way to do it that is at a kids level of understanding, that isn’t gross…and isn’t embarrasing.
    I just got gross, incorrect information from a boy who’s sister was pregnant..nice

  3. Sticky Bun May 15, 2008 at 5:10 am #

    So, first of all, as I look at my wee ones, it’s hard to believe that we’ll ever have to talk to them about sex. But I was hoping to wait a bit longer than 6 weeks!

    also-thanks for the my brest friend tip! I went out and bout one and love it. I still haven’t mastered the art of tandem feeding (unless I have someone else to position the second one. helas!) anyhow, any other twin tips much appreciated!) πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

