treasures found

28 Jun

while hanging at my parents’ house these 2 weeks, i have found so many things. photos, clothes, mementos, camera equipment, & miscellaneous other items. there’s a lot of stuff here in my parents’ house & i want to search through things & take what i want before they clean it up.

oh, who am i kidding. i’ll be back to do it when they die.

but i want this stuff now.

i found a beautiful blue silk shantung jacket that was my moms:

jacket

(sorry it’s so wrinkled & there’s a toilet hanging out over there.)

2 adorable embroidered pillowcases from my mom’s first marriage:

pillowslip

(again, wrinkled, but cute)

a hawaiian shirt that may have been my brother’s:

vintage hawaiian

(shortly after this picture was taken he ripped it off, popping the buttons in the process.)

and my favorite find so far. 2 pieces of vintage indian plaid fabric.

4 yards of each, i think. i can’t wait to make these into a couple of sundresses for me!!

indian green

&

indian blue

we’ve already grabbed some artwork & i may find more as a i clean.

off to hunt for pictures now. i hope to find some doozies.

3 Responses to “treasures found”

  1. Heather B July 7, 2009 at 11:37 am #

    It’s amazing but I have NOTHING at my mom’s house. When I moved out at 18 she made me take everything with me! Stuffed animals and all. If I didn’t want it, it couldn’t stay. Time to pack it up or throw it out. Funny how some mom’s are like that. 🙂

  2. Jillian July 1, 2009 at 8:29 am #

    Visited you from Twitter.

    I too was just home sifting through my mother’s things. Her collection of paintings and art was amazing.

    It is so much more meaningful to share with them their possessions while they are still alive and let them know how you appreciate their collected treasures.

    And as for your son immediately ripping off the buttons of a shirt that has been safely saved for years, I hear your pain!

  3. sonrie June 29, 2009 at 10:12 am #

    Those are wonderful treasures! When I am at my parents, my mom always seems to find something of mine to give me, or something she has found in a box in the basement.

Leave a Reply

