i’ve got a mono-poly

7 Jul

3 of my kids are sick. if i could pick one who wasn’t sick, it’s the baby & she’s healthy(at the moment.)

now that i’ve written that, miss james has decided to wake up from a nap with a fever.

go me.

jilly started with pinkeye 2 saturdays ago & then she got a fever that lasted for 4 days. when she woke up w/104.2 on thursday, my dad told me to send her to the lab at the hospital.

it was a nightmare.

she is the last kid i would want to have a blood draw or throat culture done on & i had to hold her down with the help of 2 lab techs to get the job done. she was so scared & was pleading to me not to do it. she said she was fine, she had to go to the bathroom, & screamed louder than i’ve ever heard before. it was primal & she was horribly frightened.

we finally got everything finished & she calmed down. i hope that she knows that it isn’t that bad if she ever has to do any of it again.

when the lab tech told my dad that everything looked normal, i felt like a worthless parent for making her live through it.

BUT

when my dad came home from the office with the results, he told me the tech was wrong & had incorrectly read the results.

she had mono.

no wonder my 7 year old took two 2 hour naps the day before.

fast forward to today, justice is sleeping next to me on the couch

with mono

and scout is in vail, colorado

with mono

baby james is asleep again & if she wakes up with a fever, i’ll lay money on mono.

my poor babies.

i just hope they all feel better soon. it’s a waiting game & i just have to keep on top of the fever & make sure they get plenty of rest.

i could use some, too.

and a beer.

3 Responses to “i’ve got a mono-poly”

  1. Heather B July 17, 2009 at 5:43 pm #

    That sucks! I hope you all get some medicine and get healthy real soon! I’m thinking about you all!

  2. MotherOfBun July 7, 2009 at 3:16 pm #

    Oh man! That’s rough. Hopefully everyone will get better soon. And hope your move goes smoothly!

  3. kelli July 7, 2009 at 3:11 pm #

    I will be thinking of you guys. That is nuts.

Leave a Reply

