the catwalk

4 Sep

driving to my sister’s tonight, i took some country roads & passed by jaycee lake, a local lake just outside of my hometown.

i have many beautiful memories of going to jaycee lake. most of them include blackamoo. we would go to her mom’s cabin, play board games, water ski, lay out, try to walk around the perimeter & have to call my grandpa when i gashed my foot on a piece of broken glass that could only foreshadow our future drinking days at the lake.

i’ll be honest. i’m not extremely proud of my youthful indiscretions. they are what they are, but i wouldn’t be thus me without them.

some of my earliest memories of drinking include driving out to jaycee lake with my sister after school on e the weather had turned. it was my freshman year of high school, so i didn’t drink a shit-ton (yet.) we would meet at the bridge, park our cars 20-deep on the sides of the road and jump off of the catwalk. it was grand fun, but dangerous as hell with the libations streaming through our veins.

they took out the gangway leading to the platform before i graduated high school.

not a bad idea, if you ask me.

One Response to “the catwalk”

  1. Mommy Melee September 5, 2009 at 7:10 am #

    Though we weren’t drinking at the time, we used to take speedboats out to a big channel marker in (shark infested) Tampa Bay to jump off of channel markers.

Leave a Reply

