the great interview experiment 2009

2 Dec

last year, i missed the boat on the great interview experiment by neil of citizen of the month. i was a little busy, what, with 4 kids including a new baby, so i skipped it. no this year!

i signed up just after slouchy and just got my answers back from her yesterday. (mind you, it only took her about 12 hours to get them to me as i took 3 weeks getting my questions to her. LOOK! 4 KIDS! {did that distract you from my procrastination? no? ah, well.}) before i get too distracted with all of the blogs in my reader children, let’s get to it. (editors notes in parentheses.)

1. why did you choose not to use your real names on your blog?

my husband is a professor, and he was not excited about the idea that his students might read the blog and KNOW things about him. (yeah, hon, you’re not that interesting.) {ed: but wait. i didn’t say that, mr. slouchy. we’ll go with the more elaborate braces.} i also felt that my kids were too young to consent to my writing about them without my using pseudonyms. and i certainly didn’t want some high school kids googling my sons somewhere down the line and reading about the cute (or not so cute) things they did when they were three. kiss of death in high school, no? {ed: hmmm…maybe i should rethink some of the things i’ve written, say, about babies entering the world through vaginas.}

2. if you could ask find answers from your mother about one thing, what would it be?

i’d ask her why she never seized the day. why she let life live her instead of living life.

3. my dad has shining silver hair & i’m getting many many white hairs on my head. i wish they would grow faster, actually. when did you make the decision to leave the gorgeous white and why?

just this year. i hated getting my hair colored. it took way too much time. {ed: precisely why i refuse to color my hair. what can i say? i’m lazy. and cheap.} i decided to let the color grow out and see what my actual hair color was. it turned out to be white. some think it’s blonde. it works on me, maybe because i have a really young face. (i was carded at 39! highlight of my life!)

4. what do you want your beautiful boys to know about life when they go off on their own?

do not expect things always to be fair.
life is a gift, and it is finite. use it. don’t let it pass you by.
if you find people worth cherishing, by all means cherish them.
do for others besides yourselves and your own.
kindness to others brings the most wonderful returns.

5. why did you start blogging and why do you continue to blog?

i started blogging just before i turned forty as a way to commit to writing. i’d always wanted to write but had put it off time and again. i thought the structure of blogging would force me to write, and it did.

i continue to blog for two reasons. one, it keeps me writing. and two, because i fell in love with the online community i ended up finding.

6. how did you meet your hunky husband? why did you fall in love with him?

laughing. don’t think anyone’s called him hunky before (not that he isn’t nice-looking). {ed: he’s super-cute!} we met in our first week of graduate school. we were in different fields, but he and i share the last few digits of our social security numbers and were assigned to the same session on student benefits. we sat through a safe sex movie. and survived. i think that says a lot about us as a couple.

7. what do you miss most about nyc?

the walking. without a doubt. in the city walking isn’t exercise. it’s peeking in shop windows, watching a dizzying assortment of people, smelling chinese food (and garbage)… in the small town where i now live, walking is a chore. nothing to see. so i don’t do it. and my waistline has suffered for it.

8. where do you ultimately see yourself? is it here? now? or doing something else somewhere else?

i’d like to write a book. and not have to self-publish it.

i’d love to travel. the boys are older now (twelve, and nearly eight), and travel seems feasible in a way it didn’t when they were little.

9. what do you want your readers to know about you that you haven’t shared yet?

i fear that because i write literary pieces my readers don’t see me as accessible. but i am. i’m just lying on my couch (there’s a big dent where hip meets couch) with my laptop and piles of laundry around me, laundry yet to be folded. every time I try to fold it the cat jumps in it. he thinks the laundry is a game i invented just for him. so i’ve stopped trying.

i’m less serious and funnier than i appear on the blog. twitter users know that, but my blog readers may not. {ed: i can see this. your writing is very serious, and hella-good. our exchanges and through twitter have shown a different side, though.} i am addicted to an embarrassing number of TV shows (Mad Men, Tru Blood, House, Hell’s Kitchen, American Idol…). {ed:me too, sister. me, too.}

10. what’s your favorite color?

purple all the way, baby.

thanks, mommymae, for such fun questions!

me again. hi! thanks, slouchy, for the great answers. it was fun getting to know you a bit better. we are, after all, here for the community & what better way to get to know each other than asking direct questions? i have found a new blog to read over there at your place and i hope my readers have enjoyed this slice of slouchy’s life, as well.

12 Responses to “the great interview experiment 2009”

  1. flutter December 6, 2009 at 12:45 am #

    Slouchy is so awesome

  2. Painted Maypole December 4, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

    this was a very different peek into the fabu slouchy. thanks!

  3. tara December 4, 2009 at 8:17 am #

    Seriously, I am slouching on the couch, laptop perched on my knees and 3 loads of laundy casting a shadow beside me.
    Great interview.

  4. Boy Crazy (@claritychaos) December 3, 2009 at 10:31 pm #

    Great questions. Great answers. Loved this! I’ll have to be sure to participate next year. But you know. 3 kids. One’s a baby. You get it. 😉

  5. 180|360 December 3, 2009 at 1:08 am #

    Note to self: get a cat.

    Slouchy is awesome. Great questions.

  6. -R- December 2, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    Yes, awesome questions and answers!

  7. Heather December 2, 2009 at 9:07 pm #

    Ahhh. Love you S! Also love your advice for your boys. Excellent advice. Also your new Twitter avatar is SMOKIN’!

  8. rimarama December 2, 2009 at 6:27 pm #

    I love Slouchy.

  9. Mary G December 2, 2009 at 4:29 pm #

    What informed questions. What typically wonderful Slouchy answers. Did I know she was funny, in spite of my not being a Twit? Erm, yes.
    Well done, mommymae.

  10. Indigo December 2, 2009 at 4:01 pm #

    Awesome questions and answers. Loved #2. Profound answer. I think we can all ask that question of ourselves and step back and see what we need to do to embrace life for all it is. (Hugs)Indigo

  11. magpie December 2, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    And I thought her hair was blonde…

  12. slouchy December 2, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

    thanks for the questions, mommymae! this was fun. and now i’ve made a new friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

