hand, foot & mouth disease: by the numbers*

22 Mar

4: children afflicted by hand, foot & mouth disease in my house

0: number of parents afflicted by it

6: number of days we were stuck in the house OVER SPRING BREAK!

50%: percentage of the baby’s skin covered in rash

5: number of lesions the baby had on her tongue

1: number of lesions the boy had on his tongue, but you would have thought his mouth was made of fire the way he wailed! poor dude.

13: number of blisters still on the bottom of my baby’s feet

13: also number of days since this all started

0: number of people we passed it on to, thankyouverymuch

*alternately titled: hand, hand, hand, hand, hand, hand, hand, hand, foot, foot, foot, foot, foot, foot, foot, foot & mouth, mouth mouth, mouth disease

6 Responses to “hand, foot & mouth disease: by the numbers*”

  1. freckletree. March 29, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    no wonder you’re shopping for designer dresses.

  2. amylouwho March 25, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    oh good grief. Hand foot and mouth is THE WORST. My doctor gave me a miracle potion – liquid benadryl mixed with maalox (or something) totally soothes those poor little mouths. If it’s not too late let me know and I’ll get you the proportions.

    Feel better everyone. I’m assuming you need a nap. 🙂

  3. tara March 24, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    Oh, how terrible. I hope they all get better very soon.

  4. Sara March 22, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    Thanks so much for leaving a sweet comment on my blog creativejewishmom.com! I love taking a peek at who is commenting! I’d just love it if you would drop by my blog linking party (Sunday thru Tuesday) and share some of your quilts! Hope to see you there!

  5. Kim March 22, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    Oy was my first thought, too. SO sorry… This is one childhood disease we have (thus far) managed to avoid.

  6. Grumble Girl March 22, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Oy! You poor darling… and your darling brood! Uch. Glad everyone’s on the mend… and I’ll bet your friends and neighbours are glad you “kept it to yourselves…”

    Hang in there, babe xox

Leave a Reply

